Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Novice seeking advice

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Novice seeking advice

Old 07-23-2013, 12:46 AM
xenon20

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Novice seeking advice

Hi

I have had around one years experience (about 6 years ago) flying a high wing sunbeam trainer - which I got the hang of but then lost interest in the hobby. I have been using the pheonix simulator now for 4 months and am now thinking about getting back into rc and buying a plane.
I am mostly interested in pattern/sport planes but aspire to own a jet (a long way off that I know!).

I was hoping to get some initial guidance on good manufacturers / ones to be avoided, and what sort of plane might be a good investment to help me progress from novice to intermediate level - and of course be fun to fly!

Many thanks

Paul

Old 07-23-2013, 02:54 AM
CGRetired
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Novice seeking advice

Paul: Do you want to fly glow power or electric power?

Do you want to re-start with a trainer or do you feel confident enough to move to a "second plane"?

Do you want a kit, an ARF, or an RTF (ready to fly) model?

The choices are numerous and we will need to narrow the selection down a bit.

CGr.
Old 07-23-2013, 04:50 AM
xenon20

I think I'm leaning towards electric as it doesn't come with the noise, mess and the tuning etc. Are there any other considerations to bear in mind before deciding?

The trainer is my dad's and I am still able to fly it, but I am in a waiting list for a place at the local flying club. I think I would probably try and get my hand back in using the trainer and simulator, and then would be ready to get started with a second plane. I would opt for an ARF or an RTF (if it was good quality radio and build etc).
Old 07-23-2013, 05:15 AM
CGRetired