Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

MOKI RADIAL Care and Maintenence

Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

MOKI RADIAL Care and Maintenence

Old 07-23-2013, 09:16 PM
goodinmw

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: MOKI RADIAL Care and Maintenence

Aloha!
I've been running a solo 3 blade 26in dia propeller for several years on a ~50lb wet Corsair. I believe the pitch is somewhere between 17 and 18.
I tweaked the pitch until I was pulling ~4600RPM on the ground at full throttle. Big plane flies great.
It took me a while to get the 150 running on all cylinders- 50:1 racing oil ratio, swirl vanes in the intake tube behind the carb and leaned the mixture a bit.
Starts like a charm, sounds great and pulls with authority.
(I specifically went after the adjustable prop because with previous planes I'd invested at least as much buying multiple propellers to find the right combination of pitch and diameter for the engine/airframe)
I have a backup composite propeller- 3 blade 26x14 (Biela I think) which turns up to about 5000 RPM, and the plane is really fast- but the solo prop looks and sounds better running a bit slower RPM.
Good luck!
Mark
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sp45507.jpg
Views:	259
Size:	173.4 KB
ID:	1903490  
Old 07-24-2013, 03:34 AM
wphilb
My Feedback: (10)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have two 28 x 12 props and did not care for them, but I'll happily loan you one if you want to try, I think they are too light in pitch for the motor but they were what was recommended when I bought the plane.

Send me a PM if you want, just return when done.

Whit 
Old 07-24-2013, 04:43 AM
reyn3545