Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Self taught flying - My diary / progress

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Self taught flying - My diary / progress

Old 07-31-2013, 01:35 PM
on_your_six
My Feedback: (11)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Self taught flying - My diary / progress

I know you don't want to hear this... a good friend, and NOW A CLUB MEMBER told me yesterday out of the blue; he wishes that he had never gone the renegade route. He spent years running around from ball diamond to ball diamond to fly. He knows the location of every ball field in the area. He got caught several times by the park police and risked getting fined. The biggest thing he said he now enjoys is the (most of) other members. He is a great guy and offers a lot and has learned a lot from us. He regrets every year he spent running around hiding just to fly. Now that is a guy with passion for flight.

I never knew that before... it took a while, but he saw the light.
Old 07-31-2013, 02:28 PM
ssautter

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

ORIGINAL: carl24bpool
I wouldn't say I'm asking for trouble. It's harder but nitro is what I had already so I'm not going out and buying electric just to learn. I'm still confident ill learn to fly nitro quickly.
Nitro vs. electric? Really? Are you flying out of left field?
Plenty of nitro-powered 3-channel gliders on the market....

My point is that landing gear presents another variable, which new "teach-yourself-to-fly" pilots often struggle with.
Aileron differential, adverse yaw, coordinated turns, crab angle, skids vs. slips....that all comes later.

Big words for a noob!
Old 07-31-2013, 03:25 PM
jessiej

Good for you Carl. Many seem to view the "self taught' route with fear and loathing. I however have always admired such qualities as self reliance, determination, and patience, all tempered by a modicum of caution.