Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

wing building

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

wing building

Old 07-24-2013, 06:58 AM
thewoff

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default wing building

Hi all; I am a new R/C builder, flyer and working on a kit of F4-U corsair and am wondering if sheeting the whole wing will add strength to the wing and be more durable with hard landings that I know will happen as I progress in my quest to become a proficient pilot? I realize that with the 3-D fliers ANY weight at all is taboo, however weight ISSSS necessary and I am not concerned about what sheet would add. THNX for any advise!!!!!
Old 07-24-2013, 07:28 AM
skyhawkjock

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: wing building

If you are building from plans or a kit, the designer has figured out what is the best option for his model based on size, weight, scale looks, and flying ability. I would stick with what the plans show.
Old 07-24-2013, 07:43 AM
eddieC
My Feedback: (2)

+1  [8D]

It's not a good idea to build with a crash in mind. Instead, look for ways to lighten the plane without sacrificing strength. The lighter the plane, the less energy has to be absorbed in a crash. 
Old 07-24-2013, 07:46 AM
BobFE