Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Scale strength? Also dowel construction of fuse?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

Scale strength? Also dowel construction of fuse?

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2004, 10:15 PM
abufletcher

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Scale strength? Also dowel construction of fuse?

Does epoxy or for that matter slow CA have the same (or greater) scale strength as a weld on an original aircraft? Also does anyone have any experience with simulating the steel tube fuse construction of WWI planes with dowels. How strong is the resulting structure?
Old 03-11-2004, 11:04 PM
Flak
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Scale strength? Also dowel construction of fuse?

I can't answer the first question. I am not an engineer. However, I can tell you I scratch built a trainer type plane of my own design for my son with all the stringers in the fuse being dowel rods. The plane flew great and was very stout.
"Keep "Em Flying!"
Flak
Old 03-12-2004, 12:17 PM
BykrDan

I can also attest that the dowel-stringer construction produces a nice looking and strong aircraft (not sure you can even tell the difference under covering).
Old 03-12-2004, 04:04 PM
Capgains
My Feedback: (4)

Aren't dowels kind of heavy to build with, or do you use fewer of them as a result of their strength?

Dan
Old 03-12-2004, 04:13 PM
Ducted Fan Dan
My Feedback: (2)

If you look at balsa stringers compared to dowel rods, dowel rods are far and away stronger. They are however heavier.
Old 04-04-2004, 11:07 PM
Jim OHaver

Does epoxy or for that matter slow CA have the same (or greater) scale strength as a weld on an original aircraft? Also does anyone have any experience with simulating the steel tube fuse construction of WWI planes with dowels. How strong is the resulting structure?