Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Platteville WI, R/C Flying

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Platteville WI, R/C Flying

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2004, 11:16 PM
Gravityisnotmyfriend
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Platteville WI, R/C Flying

I'm trying to either find a R/C club in this area, or -if none exists- start one. I've been flying for several years, but mostly by myself at my parents' land. Its a great place to fly, 1300' grass strip with almost no obstructions, but this hobby is more fun when flying with others. Any suggestions on how to find a club in this area? Or, if any of you are from Platteville WI (or the area) and want to start a club, let me know. Also, is there a way to search the members of this site to find where they are from?
Old 05-06-2004, 11:58 PM
FHHuber
Banned

Default RE: Platteville WI, R/C Flying

The easy one first... the RCUniverse members location, if they provided it is under thier name when they post.

The first place to look if you want to find an AMA affiliated club is the AMA website.
http://www.modelaircraft.org/templates/ama/clubmain.asp

You can also use Google search and find clubs sometimes... But its not as easy.

I agree that its a LOT more fun to fly if you have a few others there to witness your successes, and to cheer you on... plus I get a lot of enjoyment from helping out beginners... helping them to avoid making the same errors that cost me so many airplanes.

I tend to spend 4 to 6 hours at the field at a time... and have a plane in the air a total of about 30 min to 1 hour. The rest of the time... mostly goes to "war stories" (mine or the other guy's... ) if I'm not helping a beginner.