Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Combat
Reload this Page >

Tactics

Community
Search
Notices
RC Combat Discuss rc combat planes, techniques and strategies here.

Tactics

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2005, 05:48 AM
aimmaintenance

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tactics

I'm kinda new to combat and was just wondering what you veterans thought. Right now we are just gettin started and the most we've ever had in the air at once was 4 planes. As for tactics we all just flew into each other and looped and turned and looped and turned. No real tactics here, just waiting for luck to happen and get a streamer.
Is this basically what everyone does or do the pros have any particular tactics that work better?
Old 05-21-2005, 07:16 PM
TiGuy
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Tactics

There are two basic tactics. Just about every round starts out as a "furball". This sounds like what you have described. Call them targets of opportunity, or just plain lucky snags, but when 10 planes are up all with full streamers looping in the middle of the "ball" can score a couple quick cuts. Once the targets decline to only a few streamers (or a couple planes carry the lions share of streamers) it's time to get down to business with the real tactic of pursuit. Pick a target and chase it down hard. Anticipate your opponents moves and don't let them shake you. Many pilots have bad poker faces and repeat the same move over and over again to evade pursuit. The best have so many moves, they are almost impossible to anticipate, but they also MUST stay in the engagement area so they have to change direction some time. Practice matching speed with your target too. If you are alot faster than the target you'll over fly them too quickly and lose out on cuts.
Old 05-22-2005, 05:35 PM
daven
My Feedback: (1)

Check this link:

http://www.teamseaholm.com/

Go into RC Combat, and then check out both Aireal and ground tactics. Lots of good stuff.
Old 05-23-2005, 06:22 AM
aimmaintenance