Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Extreme Speed Prop Planes
Reload this Page >

Highly Modified AK Models SU-27 Build Thread

Community
Search
Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

Highly Modified AK Models SU-27 Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2006, 05:02 PM
Mods-R-Me
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Highly Modified AK Models SU-27 Build Thread

Summary

Hello SU-27 fans,

I've read and re-read the "AKM SU-27 Does Look Good" thread on RCU several times and it inspired me to build one of my own. I'm a builder at heart who sometimes flies (to test out the build) and like my handle implies, I tend to heavily "mod" every kit I build. Most of the time just for the coolness factor. Since I'm modding the original kit so much, I started my own thread. For this kit I plan to make three main mods*:

1. Full flying stab/ailerators
2. Movable L.E. flaps
3. A Speed brake

* and other scale resembling mods here and there

I understand that these mods are not needed and will/may degrade the performance a little, but the coolness factor far outweighs that[8D]. The engine will be a Jett 90L of course.

The Kit

The kit is sold by [link=http://www.ak-models.com]www.ak-models.com[/link]. It's laser cut (the parts actually fit together) and for $124.00 you can't beat the price!

Covering Design

Lastly, this will be my covering design. It's a MIG-29, but it is absolutely beautiful.

Old 05-05-2006, 05:24 PM
Mods-R-Me

Default RE: AK Models SU-27 Biuld Thread with many Mods

Full Flying Stab/Airlerators

The original kit uses epoxy bearings and control rods to move the elevators (See Figure 1)

Figure 1