Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Want to go brushless but still confused

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2006, 03:38 AM
Tsubaki

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Want to go brushless but still confused

I've been running nitro cars for a few months now, and I wanted an electric so I got myself a Associated TC4 kit.
All I need now are batteries and ESC/motor.

I'm pretty sure I want to go brushless but I also want to be sure I am ROAR legal in case I get into racing later.

I looked at Novak systems (the 5.5 in particular) but I hear of overheating and glitching issues. Now, this could be operator error with gearing and they do say that the ESC being too close to the Rx will do funny things but I want to know what the concensus is with Novak quality.

The next thing is sensor Vs sensorless; everyone RAVES about Mamba Max but it isn't ROAR legal, or atleast the motor isn't because of its wind? I love the fact the ESC is so tunable but can I take a sensorless motor from say, Trinity that is Y- wound (ROAR legal)stick it on a Castle ESC and make it work?

So just from searching the forums for the last 2 hrs, should I go with a Catsle ESC and a ROAR legal sensorless motor?
Also, can cogging be eliminated by using good batteries and lower gearing to keep the revs up?
Is there a better alternative that won't cost me an arm and a leg?

Thanks!

Ken
Old 09-20-2006, 07:09 AM
RURC

Default RE: Want to go brushless but still confused