Community
Search
Notices
RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Retracts Or Not

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2003, 12:09 AM
kirknik

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Retracts Or Not

I'm gonna start my first pattern plane. GP Tracer with an OS FX46 engine. Although its my first attempt at pattrn, I wanna be serious about it.
Retracts or not is the question.

What do yoose guys think?
Old 01-20-2003, 12:37 AM
NCC-1701

Default Retracts Or Not

I recommend going with fixed gear for two reasons:

1. Weight. The Tracer is a great 40 sized airplane. However, due to it's small size, the added weight of the reracts will increase wing loading and decrease vertical performance noticeably.

2. AMA Precision Aerobatic rules for 401. I am assuming you plan to fly Sportsman class. If so, the rules for Sportsman require that the aircraft either have fixed landing gear or the rear, if retractable, must remain in the down position for the entire flight.

Since you will not be allowed to raise the gear anayay, go with fixed so you can get your Tracer finished faster. Then you need to practice, practice, and practice.

Good luck

Rob

Check out the NSRCA website for good info on pattern flying, including contest listings.

http://www.nsrca.org/
Old 01-20-2003, 02:05 AM
JimTrainor

Default Retracts Or Not

I am building one now - with retracts. Mainly because I think it's cool. (I am aware of the gear down rule.)

I just weighed the parts:

Stock Gear: 2 x 1.0 oz = 2 oz
Light Wheel 2 x 0.25 oz = 0.5 oz
Total = 2.5 oz

Hobbico Retract incl axle 2 x 2.0 = 4. oz
Light Wheel 2 x 0.25 oz = 0.5 oz
Retract servo = 1.5 oz
Total = 6 oz.

So you're adding at least 3.5 ounces. With effort, you might be able to shave an equivalent amount elsewhere.

Get light weight wheels!!! I have another set of wheels here that weigh a full ounce each. Big difference.