Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Request for assistance - Dickie RC FDNY Fire Boat

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Request for assistance - Dickie RC FDNY Fire Boat

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2006, 10:47 PM
dutch quincy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Request for assistance - Dickie RC FDNY Fire Boat

Greetings,

I am new to RC and am in need of some assistance. I am really interested in purchasing a Dickie RC FDNY Fire Boat for my son.

Sample link attached:

http://www.stuffkidslike.com/cgi-bin/item/109908

I am not familiar with this manufacture, and am also slightly concerned that the range limitation for this model is 160 feet. My son loves tug boats and fire-trucks, so this is the ideal gift. In terms of where we would be using this, we have a medium sized pond in our neighborhood.

Does anyone know of any red flags with this model that I should be aware of? Also, is it possible to extend the range of a boat with some kind of signal booster?

Thank you in advance for your assistance!

Regards,
Dutch

Charlotte, NC
Old 11-26-2006, 11:49 PM
Flabum

Default RE: Request for assistance - Dickie RC FDNY Fire Boat

Well, 160' is half the length of a football field, with a boat of that size you would probably have trouble seeing it at 160'. I think the range is suitable for that particular model. I can not comment on the quality of the boat, sorry, I do not know that model.
Old 11-27-2006, 12:30 AM
RCOZZY

I bought one last year. I'm currently converting it to "proper" RC. It's an all or nothing control now. But it does work pretty good for what it is. Here's a link http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/My_...1%20Dickie.htm that you may find helpful. If you get it off eBay watch the shipping charges people use. I got mine for $3 + $23 shipping. Run time on the battery is only about 15 min.
Old 11-27-2006, 01:57 AM
LtDoc

Dutch,