Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Help with Vailly Fw190

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2006, 05:15 PM
flyer103

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with Vailly Fw190

Greetings Everyone,

I am ready to take on my first giant scale warbird.

Recently I aquired a Vailly Aviation Fw190 project from a friend of mine who decided he would never get around to building it. It's basically unstarted, with the glass fuse and cowl, wood, plans, tail-wheel retract, etc.

What I do not find is a set of building directions.

Has anyone out there ever build this particular bird, and if so, might you have any suggestions on getting started?

I have been an avid builder for many years. But I've never tackled anything like this before. I want to spend the whole winter and do a really good job.

My only giant scale experience thus far has been a Balsa USA 1/3 J-3 Cub which, no disrespect to those fine folks, took much longer than it should have due to sometimes vague instructions.

I can generally figure things out pretty well if I have to, but I would be a lot more comfortable with a good set of building instructions.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.

Gene Norman
Old 12-01-2006, 08:25 AM
TomCrump

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Help with Vailly Fw190

My guess is that there are no written instructions. I don't think that many plans built models have them. I know that the three models that I have built from plans had only minimal notes written on the plans. You are expected to rely on your experience to build the model.

Good luck with your 190. It's a project worth the effort it takes to finish it.
Old 12-01-2006, 08:58 AM
chuck l
My Feedback: (17)

Go check out the Vaillancort forum over in RCScaleBuilder, there are several threads on the FW190. You can get a lot of help there. You will have to register to use the site just like with RCUniverse.