Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

Are Guillow's kits any good for practice?

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

Are Guillow's kits any good for practice?

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2006, 01:50 PM
bigedmustafa
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Are Guillow's kits any good for practice?

Being relatively new to the hobby, I have no kit building experience at all. I've decided that this is something I'm going to try this winter, so I bought a Great Planes Rapture 40 kit to put together.

Before I tackled the Rapture 40, I thought it might be a good idea to practice a bit, so I also bought a Gillow's 600-series Build-by-Numbers Lancer kit. I thought it would be pretty simple to put together, since the box had phrases like "easy building" and "junior contest" on it. Putting it together has been an eye-opening experience!

How useful is it to put one of these free-flight kits together while trying to learn about kit building R/C planes? Will any of my experience with the Guillow's kit help me when I go to build the Rapture 40?

Just looking for some helpful advice and some additional useful practice before I start tearing into a larger project. Thanks!
Old 12-08-2006, 02:18 PM
ouflyer

Default RE: Are Guillow's kits any good for practice?

I'm new to the RC world myself, but I have built plastic models most of my life, and control line models several years ago. I went into idle mode for a few years before I got into RC just recently. I did buy Guillows laser cut kit (French Neauport) (sp?) for a practice build. This is my first laser kit, and I must say it is awesome!!! Everything fits tight and straight. I don't know if yours is laser cut or not, but I think it would be a good practice kit to start on. It will teach you basic fundamentals you will use on the real deal. Just my neewbe input.
Old 12-08-2006, 03:20 PM