Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
Reload this Page >

How do I make a plug from this heli canopy?

Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

How do I make a plug from this heli canopy?

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2007, 01:17 AM
antennahead

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do I make a plug from this heli canopy?

I would like to make a plug from my new heli canopy. this canopy is made from bleach bottle plastic. I have never done this before and am not sure what material to use to make a mold and cast a new plug to eventually make a fiberglass canopy. since the canopy is flexible, do I need to fill the canopy with something to keep it stiff,especially at the rear of the canopy? if so what could I use?

I assume the mold would be a 2 peice silicone mold with the parting line down the center leaving the back open?

Once the mold is made, What material would be used to make the plug from ?

Can this be done without destroying the original canopy?

I have been reading alot on this forum about materials and techniques but I am not sure how to make a plug from an existing molded item.
Thanks for any help.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo41331.jpg
Views:	419
Size:	23.9 KB
ID:	630105   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hc93965.jpg
Views:	323
Size:	22.4 KB
ID:	630106  
Old 02-26-2007, 05:51 AM
Ed Smith

Default RE: How do I make a plug from this heli canopy?

You have the plug already, the canopy. Using the canopy as a plug a mold can be made. There are two choices here. Either way some sort of internal structure to stiffen and support the canopy will be needed. This structure can be balsa formers.

One method would be to fit a parting board around the canopy along the centre line. This can be a chore.

I would split the canopy along the centre line. fit the two halves along the centre line to a flat board .