Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Gas Boats
Reload this Page >

For all who want to make their own mold...

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

For all who want to make their own mold...

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2007, 10:03 PM
Thin water

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default For all who want to make their own mold...

I am a beginner still and want to retire from the cops and robbers game in six years and just make boats (I am on the cops side of the game). I made a mold from scratch and the layup is now in the mold. I think this is the address to the thread http://www.modelpowerboat.com/forum/...read.php?t=186.

It will be a 72" deep V and should be able to take some heavy water when done. I have made some parts for Carl of plumkrazyrcboats.com and this will be a gift for him. He will set it up and get it on the water.

JIM

[Edited. Bad link and not directly to the thread.]

Old 07-07-2007, 02:29 AM
martno1fan

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: For all who want to make their own mold...

Is that Dougs deep v offshore hull youv,e made?,looks nice but a little narrow in the beam for its length i find what do you think?.
Old 07-07-2007, 07:50 AM
Justaddwata
My Feedback: (3)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

I am confused - "For all who want to make their own mold.." but your showing us a hull. Are there more pics or something?
Old 07-07-2007, 08:20 AM
Thin water

Justaddwata, the link is for the thread where the mold was made, from the plug to the picture shown. It is fairly long so transferring it was not a good idea. I should have the boat out of the mold this weekend and use it's final size to make the plug for the top mold.

With the thread another beginner such as myself should be able to start with their own plug and end up with a useable mold. I have been building parts in fiberglass for about two years now and just started making molds a few months ago.

The plug

The plug with flange being glued on