YS Engines Support Direct support from YS Performance Engines by Dave Shadel

Fuel flow in YS 120

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2007, 09:29 PM
motoaire
My Feedback: (24)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel flow in YS 120

I'm new to YS engines, although I've had a fair amount of experience with other 4-strokes. I recently purchased a used 120 FZ
which I disassembled to replace the bearings. Other than roughness in one of the bearings the engine was in very good condition.

After reassembly, I'm having no success with starting it. The fuel tank develops presssure and feeds it to the
regulator but it will only pump fuel to the carb when I turn the engine in reverse of normal rotation. Normal rotation delivers no
fuel to the carb. Everything appears to be clean in the regulator, diaphram, check valve, and all the fuel passages. The regulator is installed with the little metal nub pointing toward the prop.
I'm wondering if I might have assembled something backward that is causing this. Any thoughts on this from the experts
would be appreciated.
Thanks!
Old 09-24-2007, 10:08 PM
Troy Newman

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Fuel flow in YS 120

Is it possible the fuel lines are reversed. Fuel supply goes to the front nipple on the exhaust side of the engine.

Pressure back tot he tank goes on the needle valve side of the engine.

If you have the regulator housing on with the protrusion forward this is correct. The other question is did you clean everything up when taking the engine apart and what did you clean it with?

YS engines have silicone parts and NO petroleum products are allowed. Petroleum will swell and destroy the silicone parts.