Search
Notices
Airplanes - Full Scale Discuss full scale airplanes here

Full scale flyers....roll call.

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2007, 11:30 PM
Super D

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Full scale flyers....roll call.

Figured this would be a good place to ask versus AOPA, piper owners society, etc.

I'm a student pilot, I own a cherokee 140/160 ram N4335T. I'm self employed and can fly fairly regularly. I currently have ~12 hours PIC,~40 TO and landings, and have soloed.

Here's my question, once I was soloed(twice supervised), shouldnt I be able to fly the pattern and/or stay within 25 miles of my home airport? Of course assuming nice VFR conditions ?

My CFI doesnt want me building too much solo time. I currently only have 1.8 hrs solo .

The big picture is my CFI is a retired 67 year old great instructor, owns a small FBO, is also an A&P, and some limited charter flights. He has another student similar to me and after one year has just started cross countries. I dont want it to take a year but it seems that the direction I'm headed because he is so busy.

When I know the weather is decent I'll call him and he says he's busy, then when I stop by the FBO hes napping [&o]. I actually dont blame him at 67 years old but its aggrevating for me. A conservative estimate of cancelled flight sessions is at least 10 times.

He's got 30000+ hours mostly for P.H.I.(petroleum helicopters inc.) no doubt a good instructor and person. Flying is becoming a drag when I want to go fly and cant because he's busy and he doesnt want me building too much solo time. I enjoy flying and want to get my private certificate, and later my instrument rating.

Should I stick with the only instructor close to me or look for other options?
One option is tyler pounds KTYR 25 miles from me with several instructors.

Thanks for any guidance
Dylan
Old 11-19-2007, 09:17 AM
TerryW

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Here's how I see it.