Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Need Balancer

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2007, 05:14 PM
zen3

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need Balancer

I need a recommendation on a real cheap balancer. I'm on a budget, especially since I just spent my heli fund on other equipment. I have a Celectra charger, charges 1-3 cells, and a 13.8 vdc, 1.75a, 40a power supply for ac charging. I need to charge batteries for a cx2 7.4v 800mah I think, a 11.1v 1300mah, and a 11.1v 2100mha. I saw a balancer for 25.00 I think it was a binky, I'm not sure. Also how does it hook up to this set up. Also what do you think about this power supply? I had it laying around. I'm new at this batt charging thing, so anything would help at this point.
Old 12-27-2007, 05:56 PM
sky21

Default RE: Need Balancer

Hi zen3:

I'm using a E-Sky charger (model EK2-0851) about $14 and an E-flite AC to DC adapter (12V, 1.5A) output. The output for the charger is .8A and works very well

Hope this Help

Sky21
Old 12-27-2007, 09:04 PM
zen3

How long does it take to balance and charge a 11.1v batt?
Old 12-28-2007, 02:36 AM
sky21

It take about 1 hour to charge the battery
Old 12-28-2007, 12:30 PM
RoyBob
My Feedback: (1)

The CX2 battery should be charged at the 500mA / 2 Cell switch positions on the Celectra. The output connects to the JST plug on the battery - the same plug that the battery plugs into on the heli. The problem is that this is a "series" battery so the positive connection is on one battery and the negative is on the other - so you need a way to balance the cells. The Astro Blinky would connect to the balance charge plug - which is the three connector plug for the 2 cell (7.4v) lipo, and a four connector on the 3 cell (11.1v). I use a Blinky and balance the battery after the charge is complete.