Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

4*60 with a wing delimma...

Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

4*60 with a wing delimma...

Old 12-28-2007, 05:41 PM
Appfan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4*60 with a wing delimma...

Okay so I'm a first time builder. I'm taking my time, no rush. However I have encountered my first "true learning opportunity". I built up both wing halves with no dihedral. I'm now starting to think that was a mistake. I've been flying for almost 2 years, but this will be my first low wing plane. I have not joined the halves together. So now is the time to make the change. I want to reset the dihedral back to recommended 2%.

So my question, for you kit builders/bashers out there is; what are some recommendations to reset the correct dihedral? I used thin CA on the stringers and tightbond on the sheeting. Let me know if a few picts would be helpful as well.

thanks much,
-Brian
Old 12-28-2007, 06:57 PM
UPF-7

Default RE: 4*60 with a wing delimma...

One idea Brian would be to trace the root rib pattern onto 1/8 sheet balsa and cut out two new ribs. Glue one to each root rib of your wing panels. These will add thickness to your root ribs that will be sanded to the proper angle in the next step. Next, prop up a panel so that the tip is 1/2 the total amount of dihedral you want. Now using a sanding block, carefully sand the root rib until the sanding block is flush to the rib. Repeat for the other wing panel. When the two halves are joined together, you will have your full dihedral angle. The trickiest part of the whole process is keeping your sanding block square to the root rib. I hope this helps. Maybe some others will have an easier method. Mark
Old 12-28-2007, 07:57 PM
Campgems

Received 1 Like on 1 Post