Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

BCMAEngines

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2008, 10:50 PM
rloeb

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: BCMAEngines

He mentioned that he'd had some trouble with that particular carb and ended up replaced mine with another brand. Zama -> Walbro ??? (I'm new to this game and can't keep track of all the names ...) He tried to start it just as I brought it to him. Did the same thing for him that it did for me -- ran for several seconds, then died. Did some adjustments; got same result. Replaced carb with another of the same manufacturer; same result. Switched brands. Started right up.

Incidentally, Adam has a 24V drill that he uses to start these motors. Worked like a charm. I'm going to try the same with my 19.2V and see if it has enough oomph.

I have to mention that Adam has a very well tuned ear, sort of "perfect pitch" for 2-cycle engines. He's been doing this for a while (and used to repair lawn mowers), and can instantly tune one of these engines by ear. Took less than a minute of tweaking and the transitions were perfect.

Rog
Old 02-15-2008, 05:50 AM
Flyer Freq

Interesting! Have only talked to him on the phone and exchanged e-mails. Always a treat! Thanks for the info! Every bit of information we share may help others!

Andy
Old 02-15-2008, 11:35 AM
blackbaron
My Feedback: (92)

Hi Guys

I met Roger yesterday and that was a real pleasure. What a great guy! We bench ran a couple of engines and got them all tuned up and ready to go. The Zama carb I had originally put on his engine had a bad lower diaphram and for some reason once the engine fired up the valve on the main jet was shutting off fuel??? Several of my Zamas are doing this for reasons I do not know. I put a Walbro WT-433 on there and with some minor tuning the engine is running sweet!