Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

straight exhaust pipe on engine?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2008, 06:13 PM
STEVESRCWORLD
My Feedback: (23)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default straight exhaust pipe on engine?

i have a warbird that i am currently building and i am installing a 26cc size engine. i want to take the stock exhaust off and make a open header and let it run out of the bottom of the cowl or angled back. will it effect the way the engines run's? will it make more or less power? i am a welder and machineist and have access to aluminum tubing and all the parts to do so. but i don't want to adversely affect my engine. thanks
Old 05-08-2008, 06:22 PM
mogman

Default RE: straight exhaust pipe on engine?

Do you fly with a club, or out in the boonies somewhere? Noise is a BIG issue at a lot of fields and a lot of sites have been lost due to noise.
Just something to think about. A straight pipe will be noisey.
Cheers, Dave.
Old 05-08-2008, 07:02 PM
Tired Old Man
My Feedback: (1)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Performance wise it probably won't be much different than with a stock muffler. Perhaps even a little better performance. Conventional wisdon is that a two stroke requires some back pressure to perform well but if the pipe was long enough or had a bend or two in the right places it would work. Noise will be somewhat louder but not as much as most would expect. Stock mufflers really don't "muffle" very well.
Old 05-09-2008, 09:23 AM
Charley
My Feedback: (2)

What engine is it? What kind of muffler does it have? Without this info it's impossible to make a judgment. Some "muffle" better than others and present more restriction to flow.

My suggestion is to run it on the bench to get a feel for its performance and noise quotient. Then, since you have the skills, make up a muffler system that fits, run it with this on it and compare notes.

Just remember that noise is our enemy!

CR
Old 05-09-2008, 10:11 AM