Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

HOVERING RATIO???

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

HOVERING RATIO???

Old 06-19-2008, 05:15 PM
tiggerracing

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HOVERING RATIO???

What is the ratio for a plane to hover. And how do you calculate it?
THANKS
Old 06-19-2008, 05:55 PM
combatpigg
My Feedback: (3)

Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
Default RE: HOVERING RATIO???

I'm no expert, but less than 1.5:1 is a real chore for me with small models. It isn't just the ratio but throttle response enters in big time. The engines I've run with tuned mufflers have great response.
The guys who fly large models might not need as good a ratio as 1.5:1?
Old 06-19-2008, 06:13 PM
daveopam
My Feedback: (9)

Received 42 Likes on 37 Posts

It's hard to calculate because it's hard to know the thrust of the engine. I have heard of guys hooking a fishing scale to the plane and try to measure it. But how accurate is the scale? Let's assume you can get an accurate measurement. IF your plane pulls 15lbs on the scale and weighs 10lbs. You have a 1.5:1 thrust to weight. For me I guess at the ratio. If the plane will hover at 1/4 throttle I would say it's 2:1. It's just a guess but I think it's close. This is assuming your engine is tuned and propped right. The more I think about this the more complicated it gets so I am going to quit.

David
Old 06-19-2008, 06:53 PM
FoamyVictim

As complex as the equation may be, you pretty much nailed it. How accurate do we really need to be anyway. Lets just say if it pulls allot harder then it weighs, you should be good to go for 3D.
Old 06-19-2008, 09:46 PM
nappy99