Community
Search
Notices
Car Nitro & Gas Engines Discuss all aspects of Nitro and Gas rc car engines here!

Trx 2.5 issues

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2008, 12:03 AM
Notgwb
My Feedback: (10)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trx 2.5 issues

I've had a Trx 2.5 that I have been running in a Nitro Rustler (1/10 stadium truck) for almost two years now. If I had to guess I would say that the engine has had around three gallons of Byron fuel through it. The three gallons have always been Byron 20% gen one.

The last time I remember running the engine was in Florida (I live and regularly run the engine in Georgia) near the beach and it was running perfectly. When I say perfectly I mean a thin trail of blue smoke, no bogging at low/med/high range. I have been using a CVEC .12-.15 tune pipe on the 2/4 baffle setting.

About a month later I take the said engine out of the N. Rustler and put it into a T-Maxx. I put the factory stock plastic pipe that normally comes with 2.5 T-Maxxes and I could not get it to start at all. I put the CVEC back on the Maxx and it would start fine but it would have a low end bog. I would have to gently ease the truck up to speed with no more than 1/8 throttle. Anymore and the truck would shut off. You could definitely hear the bog and it would eventually go away mid-high range but it would always come back on the low range.

I tried new glow plugs (Megatech Q-Series (I've always used them)) and factory settings and that still didn't help. I eventually took the engine out and put it back in my Nitro Rustler and took it down to the beach in South Carolina. I'm still having the same issues.

I bought some brand new Byron gen two 20% and it didn't make a difference in terms of engine problems.