Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Skymaster Gripen ARF Engine Selection

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Skymaster Gripen ARF Engine Selection

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2008, 06:46 AM
MattyC-130
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Skymaster Gripen ARF Engine Selection

I have a Skymaster Gripen ARF and deciding on an engine for it.
Possible choices
JetJoe 1800
Jetcat 70
Jetcat 80
RAM 750
I think an 18LB thrust engine should be perfect for this jet.
Any inputs woud be greatly appreciated
Thanks
Matty
Old 08-07-2008, 06:59 AM
rorrock

Default RE: Skymaster Gripen ARF Engine Selection

Matty,
You can also look at the new Jet Central Rabbit or the trusty Falcon and dial it down.

Regards,
Rob
Old 08-07-2008, 09:05 AM
rcjets_63
My Feedback: (4)

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

Matty,

I've got a SM Gripen too and went through the same dilemma of choosing an engine. I also have a RAM750 but figured that, while it would fly the Gripen, it likely didn't have the power (19lbs) thrust to get out of high alpha maneuvers since it's a delta wing (high drag). The Gripen will likely weight about 23-25 pounds (the old non-ARF plus versions came in as high as 30 pounds) unless you keep it bare bones mininum of equipment and put the turbine all the way in the tail to eliminate the exhaust pipe. I wanted to put in a smoke system, regulator, lights, etc so I wanted a bit more power.

Regarding your list (plus a couple more)
Joe Jet - hmmm, I've heard good things and bad about quality,reliability, fit, etc. I bought a starter bullet from them to fit on the RAM. I wasn't impressed with the quality.