Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Scale Boating
Reload this Page >

Jolly Jay fishing boat

Notices
RC Scale Boating Enjoy rc scale boating? Talk about it here.

Jolly Jay fishing boat

Old 01-13-2009, 07:39 AM
dlemo2000

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jolly Jay fishing boat

I am a newbie to this hobby and this is my first build. I am building this kit to be a "working" fishing boat. By working, I mean to install a winch type system which will reel in the fish. I have a few questions I hope someone can offer suggestions:

1. The kit came with a 4.8v motor. The boat is 24" long. Is this big enough? I don't need to go fast but do not want to be under powered.
2. Any ideas on what kind of gearing or motor system to power the winch? My current thought is an additional motor and speed control using a 4 channel remote, but I am worried about room and weight. The winch will be built with an old baitcasting spool and gears. I think I need a low speed, higher torque drive (and small)
3. Can a battery power more than one thing at a time.

Any thoughts would be a help.

Thanks
Old 01-13-2009, 03:10 PM
toesupwa

Default RE: Jolly Jay fishing boat

ORIGINAL: dlemo2000

1. The kit came with a 4.8v motor. The boat is 24" long. Is this big enough? I don't need to go fast but do not want to be under powered.
2. Any ideas on what kind of gearing or motor system to power the winch? My current thought is an additional motor and speed control using a 4 channel remote, but I am worried about room and weight. The winch will be built with an old baitcasting spool and gears. I think I need a low speed, higher torque drive (and small)
3. Can a battery power more than one thing at a time.
1/ A semi build thread here that has info you may find useful..
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...ight=Jolly+Jay