Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter General Discussions Discuss RC Helis here. Nitro, gas, turbine and any make, model or brand not having its own specific forum below!

Running without nitro

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2009, 05:52 PM
Aus_Panther

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Running without nitro

Hi guys, just a bit of background before the question. I have been flying fixed wing for the past 16 years and heli's for about 3 months (although I did have a sceadu 50 for a couple of months about 4 years ago but a case of dumb thumbs destroyed it and I stopped flying for over 4 years). As I am allergic to nitrous oxide I have avoided using nitro in my fuels (yes I know they are not the same). I used to run the motor in my sceadu on the same fuel as my planes (20% oil no nitro) but decided when I got back into the hobby a few months ago and lashed out and bought all new gear (minister for war and finance was not happy with the $6000au bill for getting back into the hobby). Any way as things have changed quite a bit in the last 4 years I didn't know how the new motors would run without nitro. My supertigre 2300 is fine but the manual for my 50 hyper said minium 10% nitro (or something like that) so as a result I have been running 16% - 20% (pending on what my local shop has in stock) but have been suffering major headaches every day that I fly (similar starting symptoms to reaction from laughing gas). Any way I blew the motor in my Titan (the hyper) and instead of re-building it have decided to get a new Thunder tiger redline 53. Now the question is this - has any-one ever tried running these motors without nitro? I will not be flying any aggressive 3d just basic forward flight and maybe some basic aero i.e. loops rolls slow flips ect. Any help would be greatly appreciated. If I have to use nitro I will not giving up the heli's again just because of headaches there is Panadol ect. for them lol.
Cheers
Aus_Panther (Clinton)