Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

New to RC gliders/sailplanes???

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

New to RC gliders/sailplanes???

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2009, 11:58 PM
cj007

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to RC gliders/sailplanes???

Hi,
I have been interested in r/c gliders/sailplanesfor years but could not get myself to buy a plane for fear of crashing, thus wasting my money. Correct me if Iam wrong but from my research, first time flyers should persue a foam plane due to their durability??? but the downfall is that they are heavier??? Also, I have been told my an older fellow to start with 4 channels because thats the"correct way to fly?" Ineed some input as to a first time glider/sailplane??? I have never built a plane before, so Iam wondering if there are any RTFs available???and if so are there any 4 channels??? I say this becuase Iwas thinking of later adding a power pod if Iactually learn to fly. Also,I am unfamiliar with theelectronic such asthe different types of servosand the radios???Your help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
cj
Old 08-29-2009, 01:02 AM
scaflock

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New to RC gliders/sailplanes???

I myself started out on a 2 channel woody plane but picked up a 4 channel radio so I'd have expansion available for after I'd learned the basics. There are a couple of good "Trainer" gliders out there that don't cost an arm and a leg. Check Tower Hobbies to get a better idea on those. Easy star and up star are a couple of them. There are others out there Like the Radian electric powered that are also very good planes and good thermal ships.