Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis
Reload this Page >

Need advice from the electric experts

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

Need advice from the electric experts

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2009, 07:09 AM
bash-ace-RCU
My Feedback: (16)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice from the electric experts

Hey all, I've decided to dive in to the world of electric heli's and think I may have bought without completeing my research. I am only a novice heli pilot (have 2 nitro heli's) but have flown planks for 23 years. I bought an Axe CP to pass the time while I am in Iraq and love it, haven't had any of the standard Axe problems yet, got about 30 flights on it. Anyways, here is a list of stuff I bought to build my next electric heli. What I need to know is what needs to be changed to make a better heli for general flying and basic aerobatics (baby steps towards 3D). Money is not a problem so don't be shy, I'll save what doesn't get use for future projects or spares. Endurance is more important at this time than power.

X-cell Furion 450
Scorpion Commander V2 60 Amp 4-cell ESC
Scorpion HK-2221-6 V2 Brushless Motor
Futaba S3156MG Cyclic Servo's
Futaba S9257 Tail Servo
Spartan DS760 Gyro
RotoTech 320mm CF Main Blades
11.1V 3s1P 25C 2200 mah Li-po

Been thinking about getting a Neu 1107H/1.5Y to replace the Scorpion.

Thanks in advance.

Old 09-20-2009, 10:27 AM
noobflyer01

Default RE: Need advice from the electric experts

i'm no expert but been around this hobby for almost 2 yrs. 

1. scorpion sucks.    I had 2 scorpion #6 that had bearing failures.  and 1 scorpion commander 60a esc died.    the neu motor you suggested is better.    get a Jazz 40a esc if you have bucks to spend as these esc have amazing governer mode.   castle creations new ice controllers are sweet as well.