Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Kit Building
Reload this Page >

(new pics) first kit a couple of Q's

Community
Search
Notices
Kit Building If you're building a kit and have questions or want to discuss kit building post it here.

(new pics) first kit a couple of Q's

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2010, 12:49 PM
just flyin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default (new pics) first kit a couple of Q's

hey everybody im new here at rcu but ive been flying for about 2 years.i have wanted to build kit
for a long time and i just got started yesterday. its a goldberg anniversery cub and i plan on building
the full wing version and powering it with an o.s. .91 fs.
anyway i have a question for all the pros here. is it common to have to modify or sand laser cut kit pieces?
some of the laser cut parts in my kit are just a little to long, are these parts defective or should i just
cut sand and fit them to match the plan?

also any advise tips or tricks for the rest of the build would be very helpful.

thanx
greg
Old 04-10-2010, 01:06 PM
summerwind

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: (new pics) first kit a couple of Q's

which parts?

keep in mind that the plans are paper and paper expands and contracts with humidity.

with that said, the parts usually are right, but trimming won't hurt to work with your plan sheet as it is. check the fuse and wingspan specs against the plans and see what that is.

first thing to cover though is which parts and where they go.

Old 04-10-2010, 01:16 PM
just flyin

im refering the two laser cut pieces for the trailing edge of the elevator halfs.
i took your advice and measured the plan for fuse length and wing span
and both were spot on.

thanx

Old 04-10-2010, 01:24 PM
summerwind

you will also want to check various other parts to the plans.
need to verify that it's just these 2 parts that are off.
if the other parts of the kit are off, then your plan has expanded or contracted from it's original size.