Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Aerodynamics
Reload this Page >

What creates lift with fully symetrical wing?

Community
Search
Notices
Aerodynamics Discuss the physics of flight revolving around the aerodynamics and design of aircraft.

What creates lift with fully symetrical wing?

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2010, 07:00 PM
AB Bob
My Feedback: (20)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What creates lift with fully symetrical wing?

Hello all you smart folks,
I'm quite new to R/C aircraft.
I still fly flat bottom winged airplanes.
I understand that with a flat bottom or semi-symetrical wing, that lift is generated by the air on top having to flow faster than that on the bottom.
But, how is lift generated with a fully symetrical wing? [sm=confused.gif]
Thanks in advance.
Bob
Old 06-24-2010, 07:27 PM
da Rock

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: What creates lift with fully symetrical wing?

The wing doesn't fly parallel to the ground, doesn't fly "level". The front is up a degree or two, and TAA DAA....... it's not longer symmetrically aligned to the airflow, and winds up working like an asymmetrical profile.
Old 06-24-2010, 08:08 PM
Dr1Driver

What da Rock is talking about is called AOA - Angle Of Attack, and his description is perfectly corect.
Old 06-24-2010, 08:53 PM
Lnewqban

One of the good things about these airfoils is that they lift as much inverted as upside up, always presenting certain angle of attack to the air thru which they move.

No AOA = No lift (For symmetrical airfoils)

For example, some vertical tails have symmetrical airfoils, but since they are perfectly aligned with the airstream (AOA = zero), they do not generate any lateral force (sideways lift), unless the rudder is deflected (which makes the airfoil non-symmetrical or cambered at that moment).

For any airfoil type, the slower the wing moves thru the air, the bigger the AOA must be, so the lift force remains the same.

See the schematic and explanation posted in here: