Notices
IMAC Discuss IMAC style aerobatics in here

Biplanes in Imac

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2010, 12:02 AM
rchotdoger

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Biplanes in Imac

Im New to Imac but i have been flying pattern for several years. With pattern biplanes actually roll better and look better through knife edge maneuvers. What i am wondering i dont see any biplanes flying in Imac, and wether there is a real legitimate reason for why you only see monoplanes in imac.
Thanks
Casey

Old 07-03-2010, 07:38 AM
bubbagates
My Feedback: (32)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Biplanes in Imac

Casey,

A the local level you do not see many biplanes for various reasons. I've seen quite a few in the inviatational class flying the H9 Ultimate nd I have owned one as well before I flew IMAC so I can see how that one can be a great IMAC plane. I also owned the GP Ultimate and it was a good one for IMAC as well however it's really hard to nail one particular issue down but I think the biggest issue is the tendency for a biplane to over-rotate but a good pilot can compensate for that. Heck a good pilot can compensate for just about anything. In our region (North East) we do have one pilot that does fly an Ultimate and does very well with it. I helped him trim it and there was more trimming required for it than any other mono-wing plane I have ever done before but he let me borrow it for a weekend and I must say it flew very well.

I guess you can call me the odd person out for what I fly in IMAC, while it's a mono-wing plane you do not see many of them either. I fly a Carden Cap232 and do well with it. I also have an Extra 330L that I have used in IMAC and I will say it is cleaner in certain maneuvers but for snapping and stalling maneuvers the Cap does better.

As far as knife Edge flight in IMAC, it really does not exist to a degree, in the higher classes you do have 3/4 rolls and snaps which can place you in KE flight but for only a second.