Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Aeroworks Extra 300 60-90

Community
Search
Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Aeroworks Extra 300 60-90

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2010, 12:47 PM
sthill

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Aeroworks Extra 300 60-90

Sorry for my delay in posting, the holiday weekend really threw me off. I’ve gotten through mounting all of the control surfaces and all of the servos. I’ve included a couple of pictures of the tail feathers and the pull/pull setup. This is my first attempt at installing a pull/pull system and it went well. As always, I’m trying to get all control surfaces neutral mechanically first to minimize any computer trim later. The rudder will do about 45 degrees each way on the current setup and the max throws for 3D are 40 degrees so there should be plenty of room to play.

I spent some time on mounting the engine as I decide to NOT follow the instructions and instead mounted the throttle for my Saito the same way they show the 2 stroke install. This requires you remove and rotate the carb 180 degrees. IMHO this is a better option as allows you to not have to glue in the tall servo mount (which looked a little flimsy) and it allows the high speed needle to stick out of the top of the cowl for ease of tuning. The way they show mounting I would have had a 5+ inch extension on my HSN and it would have been sticking out of the bottom of the cowl which I wasn’t crazy about. Yes, I am going forward with a Saito 82. I’m sure folks will disagree, but it is where I’ve decided to start because I already own one and the manufacture suggests it!

One last thing, I received an awesome super custom decal set from Bad Brad Graphics. I suggest you give him a call before you decide to purchase a graphics package. He is really easy to work with and will help you make your plane your own.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version