Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Want to learn (Newbie)

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Want to learn (Newbie)

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2010, 12:21 AM
Loocass13

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Want to learn (Newbie)

Hi guys!

I'm a newbie so i need your help. Well first, i play rc heli for 6months and a friend of my father gave his plane (Flying cat 90) as a present for me and it doesn't have any electronics. He said that it requires an engine. I searched the net and found this:http://www.nitroplanes.com/flying-ca...er-rc-jet.html. It indicates here that theEngine Required is 2c 0.91 ; 4c 1.20. My questions are, what are the electronics needed. What does2c 0.91 ; 4c 1.20means? What type of servos, retracts, etc. do i need to use? Put some links. it will help me a lot.

Old 08-25-2010, 01:16 AM
kiwibob72

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Want to learn (Newbie)

First point, go to a club and talk it over with people there who know what they are talking about.

As for you query, "2c 0.91" is a 2 stroke nitro powered engine with a 0.91 cubic inch (15cc) capacity.
A "4c 1.2" motor is a 4 stroke nitro motor of 1.2 cubic inches (20cc) in capacity.
The reason they list both motor options is they both produce about the same power despite the size difference, 4 strokes produce more down low in the rev range and use less fuel (but cost a LOT more), where a 2 stroke produces it grunt higher in the rev range and use more gas, yet are cheaper to buy - different people also like the feel of a specific type of motor, so personal choice can come into it also.

Going by the motors your looking at, this is a big and powerful (and potentially very dangerous) plane you have, and not something I'd ever want to see a newbie start flying with without getting some serious help first.