Foamies! - RC Electric Foam Aircraft Discuss rc foamie electrics here (i.e. Zagi, Tazz, ProJeti, wingo)

Nitroplanes mini pop wing

Reply
Old 02-16-2014, 07:50 PM
  #1
RCLT40
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 119
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Nitroplanes mini pop wing

Just finished building my mini pop wing and I find that the prop supplied with the kit is too big. The tips of the prop hits the pop wing. So my question is do I trim the prop or cut back the wing so the prop fits?
RCLT40 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 02:52 AM
  #2
zeroback
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: , FL
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Are you using the recommended 5X3 prop? looking at the webpage there appears to be plenty of room between the TE and the prop.
zeroback is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 07:59 AM
  #3
RCLT40
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 119
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It's. The prop that came in the box. Im wondering if i didnt mount the motor correctly?.
when i get home i'll check the prop size just to make sure.
RCLT40 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 09:05 AM
  #4
zeroback
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: , FL
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I didn't know that the motor mount was not attached at the factory. It doesn't look like it could be mounted wrong. Although we have a saying in the boat business "there is nothing so simple it can't be done wrong". I noted that in the spec box it mentions a 5X3 prop but further down it mentions a 5X3 OR a 6X3. I really doubt that motor will effectively spin that large of a prop. One inch increase in diameter is huge increase on the motor load. Best to check that setup with a watt meter before trying it.

http://www.headsuphobby.com/AEO-DC-W...?categoryId=-1
zeroback is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 07:27 PM
  #5
RCLT40
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 119
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I checked the prop and it is a GWS 5x3. And it's only long on one side so something isn't quite correct. I installed the motor mount and lined it up with the center line of the wing. (where the two wings are glued together). No matter I have a shorter one I can use and I may just trim the prop to fit. Using a watt meter is a excelent idea.

thanks
RCLT40 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 07:15 AM
  #6
JPerrone
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Doha, QATAR
Posts: 252
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

"It's only long on one side". That's priceless!!! So, it's only 1/2 wrong; the other side is the correct length.

I'm trying to imagine how this could happen in the manufacturing process; and it eludes me. Therefore, there had to be a HUMAN BEING involved somewhere!!!.

I thing this problem has occurred before; and there is a fix, it is the "offset engine mount" which would raise the engine/motor, only on the long side not the short side

JPerrone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 09:28 AM
  #7
zeroback
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: , FL
Posts: 116
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

That's what I love about this hobby... It inspires people to overcome the impossible
zeroback is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:06 AM.