Notices
Foamies! - RC Electric Foam Aircraft Discuss rc foamie electrics here (i.e. Zagi, Tazz, ProJeti, wingo)

Graupner Mini Piper Questions

Old 12-06-2004, 09:43 PM
ransom

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Graupner Mini Piper Questions

Hi everyone,

I'm new to rc flight and have bought myself a mini piper. I've bought the following equipment for it..

Speed 300 6v Motor
15 amp speed controller
jr micro receiver
jr micro servos
7 cell 300mah 8.4 battery pack (recommended by local hobby shop)

Question is: Is the 7 cell battery pack actually right for this plane? graupner recommends a 6 cell 1000mah 7.2 pack... which i couldn't get..

Also will the 8.4v battery pack burn out the 6v motor?

Thanks to anyone who helps.
Old 12-06-2004, 10:18 PM
MUSIC PUBLISHER

Default RE: Graupner Mini Piper Questions

I will try and help a bit....I had the same plane...but I bought mine as a whole kit..the kit version comes with a special 6 cell 1000mah pack...designed to be light in weight yet powerful enought to give 20-30 minute flights..your 7 cell pack may be to heavy and at only 300mah..will not give long flight times...you will find that in genral that is a very.light plane..and can act very "squirelly in flight"..do not try and fly it in winds more then 6 mph,,ecspecially if your new to this hobby...your gonna also find that it does break very easily..its also not very easy to do rolling takeoffs with...better to hand launch it...you may also want to add some doweling right under the r/l wings thru the fusealge..and rubberband down the wing...the bolt on wing nut that holds the wing down..breaks away very easily..I also did not like how the servo horns glued directly into the rudder/stabilizer...
Old 12-06-2004, 10:23 PM
MUSIC PUBLISHER