Community
Search
Notices
Foamies! - RC Electric Foam Aircraft Discuss rc foamie electrics here (i.e. Zagi, Tazz, ProJeti, wingo)

Formosa Repair Question

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2005, 11:27 AM
Randog_2
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Formosa Repair Question

Does anyone have a suggestion as to how to repair the aileron control rod? That might be the wrong name but I'm referring to the wire that is buried into the foam of the aileron. Following a hard landing I notice a good amount of freeplay. I have the little plastic hinges and I used hinge glue for installation. So I'm not sure how to go about fixing this without destroying my wing.

And regarding that small wire pushed into foam... is there a construction technique that will be sturdier for my next Formosa?
BTW, I've had some absolutely great flight flights...I love this aircraft, but I'm still learning. I have nosed in with modest speed on approach and the fuse just breaks in half. I wish the plane was a bit stronger...I really wish I was a better pilot I guess. Any other model suggestions or should I just tough it out and keep on repairing.
Old 01-13-2005, 03:19 PM
Trogdor the Burninator

Default RE: Formosa Repair Question

For fixing the aileron you might try some foam-safe CA glue. You can just deflect the aileron as much as it will go and squirt some down there. Maybe put a little strip of wax paper to separate the wing and aileron so the glue wont stick the two together. I had some problems with hinges myself (I crashed a lot learning rolling harrier!) and just kept gluing. By the end my poor Formosa was like Frankenstein with glued cracks all over but ti still flew. After awhile though things started getting out of alignment so it had to be retired to that landfill in the sky.