Community
Search
Notices
Foamies! - RC Electric Foam Aircraft Discuss rc foamie electrics here (i.e. Zagi, Tazz, ProJeti, wingo)

Beginners silly questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2005, 02:16 PM
dxflyer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginners silly questions

OK firstly Im sure these questions have been answered many times but on a few searches of the archives cant find what I need. Im considering buying a unicorn and a motor.

I have been flying IC motor powered for many many years, but this is my first electric effort.

Questions

Should I go with a brushless motor or a brushed motor the brushless motor is as you well know a lot more expensive, than the 400 / 480 brushed I am considering ?

In theory will it last longer than a brushed motor ?

Any idea on average life of a motor ? (How long is a piece of string I suppose)

In theory will it give more power than a brushed motor ?

In theory will a flight last longer compared to the brushed motors ?

I cant see the unicorn replacing my IC interests but I would like a flying wing for slope soaring, and sport flat field flying, as well as a bit of thermalling (not expecting to much am I), but I dont want to buy a brushed system and then a short time later go to more expense to upgrade to a brushless setup.

Over to the experts ........
Old 08-06-2005, 06:21 PM
aggie84

Default RE: Beginners silly questions

yes
yes,
long,
yes,
yes