Forum questions or problems Post any questions about how to use the forum or any bugs/problems you may be having in this forum.

Report bugs with new vbulletin forum here

Closed Thread
Old 03-07-2014, 04:50 AM
  #1551
scale only 4 me
 
scale only 4 me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Avon Lake, OH
Posts: 9,596
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kostas1 View Post
Guys,

the problem with the Gallery on our profile STILL EXISTS!

You cannot edit or delete photos from your gallery!

Maybe you can check it out please?
I was just able to upload, edit and delete a photo,, no problems
scale only 4 me is offline  
Old 03-08-2014, 08:21 AM
  #1552
Oregon Craig
 
Oregon Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sandy, OR,
Posts: 666
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Is there a mobile/tablet solution yet? The mobile version of the site still does not work. When is the promised app coming?
Oregon Craig is offline  
Old 03-10-2014, 06:42 AM
  #1553
Oregon Craig
 
Oregon Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sandy, OR,
Posts: 666
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default How's progress?

I was told this 33 weeks ago:

"
  • I asked our tech people about this and they say that they will have an app to allow access to the forums. I was asking about Tapatalk but they said they have their own app. I haven't seen it yet so I can't say one way or another about it. When I get more info I'll definitely pass it along.

    Ken"
Oregon Craig is offline  
Old 03-10-2014, 03:51 PM
  #1554
IBobi
Administrator
 
IBobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: El Segundo, CA
Posts: 560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I'll ask & let you know about a mobile skin as soon as I have a clear date range.
IBobi is offline  
Old 03-11-2014, 08:24 AM
  #1555
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
 
RCKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 26,828
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oregon Craig View Post
I was told this 33 weeks ago:

"
  • I asked our tech people about this and they say that they will have an app to allow access to the forums. I was asking about Tapatalk but they said they have their own app. I haven't seen it yet so I can't say one way or another about it. When I get more info I'll definitely pass it along.

    Ken"
Craig,
I understand your frustration here. Trust me when I that I understand your frustration. However, I doubt you can feel my frustration in this matter because my frustration in this matter is amplified by you, and by each and every ever other member of RCU. I am here for the members of RCU and when you are having problems I am having them as well. All I can tell you is that I am trying to take care of these issues as best as I can.

Ken
RCKen is offline  
Old 03-11-2014, 10:12 AM
  #1556
RickVB
 
RickVB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Novi, MI
Posts: 839
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It appears the search engine (not the one from the top of the page, but the one from the yellow bar and blue bar lower) is down...

Oops! An error occurred: expected searchd protocol version 1+, got version '0'

Last edited by RickVB; 03-11-2014 at 03:15 PM.
RickVB is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 06:40 AM
  #1557
DBD1
 
DBD1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: OKC
Posts: 196
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Search not working

I am having the same problem with search not working, I posted a detailed description here:

Search not working
DBD1 is offline  
Old 03-12-2014, 09:15 AM
  #1558
IBxAnders
 
IBxAnders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 128
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBD1 View Post
I am having the same problem with search not working, I posted a detailed description here:

Search not working
Thank you for the report. Tech team is working on the issue right now. Sorry for the inconvenience.
IBxAnders is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 03:25 AM
  #1559
Xairflyer
 
Xairflyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Co. Donegal, IRELAND
Posts: 2,746
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The problem of being taken to the wrong post is back again, two email links today took me about three pages of posts back
Xairflyer is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 04:29 AM
  #1560
aeajr
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,546
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

FWIW, I sill have the problem of not being to update a post after I edit it. Happens with Chrome and it happens with IE 10 though I use IE10 most of the time.

Make a post.
Read it over and spot a typo or wish to add something
hit edit and make the changes
Hit save - nothing happens
Hit save again - nothing happens
No little spinning wheel or circling arrows - nothing.

I copy the post, hit refresh on the browser, see the old post.
hit edit again.
Delete all the text
Past in the new post
save - and it works 95% of the time.

Quite an annoying process. I hope I am the only one having this problem.

IE10, Win 7, cable connected
aeajr is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 04:34 AM
  #1561
aeajr
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,546
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just for fun I went to see if it was still happening with Chrome - can't log in.

Got several - page not available

Then I finally got to the main page - do you want to create an account.

Tried to log in at the "log in" space under that question - page not available

Went back and went to top of page - hit little yellow "sign in"

Took my log in - welcome back

Then took me back to the page asking if I wanted to create an account and did not have me logged in.

That was with Chrome


Havnig fun with RCU!
aeajr is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 09:27 AM
  #1562
GallopingGhostler
 
GallopingGhostler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clovis, NM
Posts: 1,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Have you tried Firefox? I haven't had any problems with RCU and Firefox.
GallopingGhostler is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 01:04 PM
  #1563
IBpark
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: El Segundo, CA
Posts: 190
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

testing testing testing
IBpark is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 01:16 PM
  #1564
aeajr
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,546
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GallopingGhostler View Post
Have you tried Firefox? I haven't had any problems with RCU and Firefox.
I appreciate the suggestion but I use IE. I will continue to use IE because that is my companies' standard. I have no desire to try other browsers just so I can avoid problems with RCU because I don't have problems with any of the other forums using IE.

I loaded Chrome to see if the problems I have with RCU also occur with another browser, and they do.

if nothing else I serve as an IE tester. There are quite a few of us out here.

Last edited by aeajr; 03-28-2014 at 01:31 PM.
aeajr is offline  
Old 03-28-2014, 06:38 PM
  #1565
GallopingGhostler
 
GallopingGhostler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clovis, NM
Posts: 1,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Well, for one not being a moderator, I just do what it takes to post, and make the best of it. To each his own. I find the posts by others and their thoughts of more importance, and the annoyances with RCU and their new interface have already been resolved to my satisfaction. However, as I see you speaking on behalf of others who may use those other browsers, which I am not using, and to resolve issues they too may suffer, press on.

BTW, Epiphany browser in Linux works fine, also.
GallopingGhostler is offline  
Old 07-20-2014, 10:28 AM
  #1566
JohnB96041
 
JohnB96041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Apache, Oklahoma OK
Posts: 1,006
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Still must be having problems on this web site. Got up this morning, turned on pc, launched IE9, went to RCUniverse.com and it flashed back that the service was not available. This has happened for the last two weekends. Last Sunday morning and again today. What is up? Can't the IT people get this web site running like other RC web sites?
JohnB96041 is offline  
Old 07-20-2014, 02:00 PM
  #1567
aeajr
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,546
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I have stopped reporting issues because they don't change so figure I have reported them enough times.
aeajr is offline  
Old 07-21-2014, 03:08 AM
  #1568
flyinwalenda
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,719
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Down for me also all day Sunday. Also the home page is now shrunk down to about 3/4 of the page. Oh, and the ad is still covering-up the upper right corner on the forums page(going on over a month now).
Where does RCU stand on IB's client list? How does IB's service their high dollar accounts?
flyinwalenda is online now  
Old 07-21-2014, 04:33 AM
  #1569
GallopingGhostler
 
GallopingGhostler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clovis, NM
Posts: 1,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinwalenda View Post
Down for me also all day Sunday. Also the home page is now shrunk down to about 3/4 of the page. Oh, and the ad is still covering-up the upper right corner on the forums page(going on over a month now).
Interesting, I hadn't observed that until you mentioned it, but then I've been only respond to subscribed threads. Looks like their frames and scripting are a little off. I observed the same results in FIrefox, Chromium and Chrome browsers, so it it isn't a browser related issue.

Last edited by GallopingGhostler; 07-21-2014 at 04:37 AM.
GallopingGhostler is offline  
Old 07-21-2014, 04:56 AM
  #1570
aeajr
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,546
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I still have to copy an edited post, hit the save, see it not update, refresh the page, re-edit the post, past in the changes and save again. Have to go through this process about 50% of the time whether I use IE10 or Chrome.
aeajr is offline  
Old 07-22-2014, 12:21 PM
  #1571
IBobi
Administrator
 
IBobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: El Segundo, CA
Posts: 560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aeajr View Post
I still have to copy an edited post, hit the save, see it not update, refresh the page, re-edit the post, past in the changes and save again. Have to go through this process about 50% of the time whether I use IE10 or Chrome.
I have not seen this issue reported before -- can you give more information so that tech can address this? What versions of Chrome and IE? Is it doing that in FF for you too?

I'm not 100% clear what you mean... copy an edited post? Can you explain clearly what exactly is going on and when it happens? Thank you!

[editing post as test in Chrome]



[edit]

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyinwalenda View Post
Down for me also all day Sunday. Also the home page is now shrunk down to about 3/4 of the page. Oh, and the ad is still covering-up the upper right corner on the forums page(going on over a month now).
There is an issue with one of the server boxes that's being worked on by tech, and it's causing the site to "flap" for some users.

As to the RCU banner, a new banner is in the works.

Thank you for reporting the "shrunken" home page -- I have reported this to tech and we'll see what they say!

Paul
IBobi is offline  
Old 07-22-2014, 01:09 PM
  #1572
aeajr
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,546
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IBobi View Post
I have not seen this issue reported before -- can you give more information so that tech can address this? What versions of Chrome and IE? Is it doing that in FF for you too?

I'm not 100% clear what you mean... copy an edited post? Can you explain clearly what exactly is going on and when it happens? Thank you!
If you go back in this thread and find my posts, probably 75% of them are reporting this problem.

I use Windows 7, IE 10 or Chrome - 36.0.1985.125


As to the problem.


I write a post, look it over and hit submit - fine All works great.

I read it over and find 2 typos and would like to add something so I go to edit it.

Make my changes, make my additions, hit save ... and wait, and wait, and wait .. .30 seconds, 1 minute, 2 minutes, 5 minutes. Nothing happens. no update, no reject, no little spinning arrow indicating something is happening.

So what do I do?

I copy the edited post.

I hit refresh on the browser

I get the old version of the post on my screen.

I hit edit again.

I delete the old post and past in the new post and hit save.

Update occurs and my new post is shown on the screen.

And this works 100% of the time. I have no idea why.


I probably edit most of my posts and this is what I have to go through about 50% of the time. No rhyme or reason to it.

And I never have this problem on any of the other forms including RCG, Wattflyer, Flyingcircus, ***********s, RCDiscuss and others. Never have this problem on any of them.

I normally use IE but I changed over to Chrome for a while to see if it would help. It didn't, so I am back to IE.

I hope that clarifies the point.

BTY I am on a cable internet connection.


============================
edit: Just for fun I edited this post to see what would happen. This is where I hit save..

Nothing happened. I waited for 2 full minutes and nothing happened. I copied the post did this edit and then hit save and it worked. So if the time stamp on this post helps maybe you can see what is going on.

I then went in to edit again and added this line of text. If there are not further comments then it worked.

Last edited by aeajr; 07-22-2014 at 01:15 PM.
aeajr is offline  
Old 07-22-2014, 02:39 PM
  #1573
IBobi
Administrator
 
IBobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: El Segundo, CA
Posts: 560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I am editing in Chrome with no issues.

[this edit made in IE with no issues]
IBobi is offline  
Old 07-22-2014, 02:42 PM
  #1574
IBobi
Administrator
 
IBobi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: El Segundo, CA
Posts: 560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Is it possible you have a plugin that interferes with your edits? I'm trying to think what it could be if mine works ok in FF and Chrome and IE.

Can you try doing a "clean" new install of one of your browsers and see if it works then?
IBobi is offline  
Old 07-22-2014, 03:19 PM
  #1575
aeajr
 
aeajr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 8,546
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Not sure I know how to do that with IE. I can do it for chrome. I will give that a try.
aeajr is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:12 PM.