RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   FPV, UAV & Drones (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fpv-uav-drones-486/)
-   -   UAV from San Antonio to Las Vegas (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/fpv-uav-drones-486/7031241-uav-san-antonio-las-vegas.html)

vegasjet 02-05-2008 11:02 PM

UAV from San Antonio to Las Vegas

Does anyone know about long distance technology for UAV aircraft? I'm planning on flying a large(144'' wingspan, 156'' fuselage length) homemade learjet type design aircraft from San Antonio to Las Vegas. I'm currently thinking about using a satellite, but if there is another way it would be interesting for me to know. Any questions or advice would be great.

Devin

B Shipp 02-06-2008 10:37 PM

RE: UAV from San Antonio to Las Vegas

Any DHS folks want to chime in here? :D

T45WingNut 02-07-2008 01:53 AM

vegasjet

First off.. you say ( in a other post ) "I am a beginner in the rc plane world" thats kinda got me worry.. UAV and RC are not the same I dont care what anyone tells you on this page.. all so you talking about flying from TX to NV????? do you know what all you have to do with the FAA to get the ok to do such a flight ??? I dont want to shoot you down on this but you really need to do some research on the FAA page.. for one a 80lbs RC model is way over the AMA limits .. when you get in the that wight Class you have to get Type Certificate Experimental threw the FAA.. http://www.faa.gov/aircraft/air_cert...rt/experiment/

http://www.faa.gov/aircraft/air_cert...approvals/uas/