Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > FPV, UAV & Drones
Reload this Page >

Help starting 50cc Cessna UAV project

Community
Search
Notices
FPV, UAV & Drones Discuss all aspects of First Person View (FPV), Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV) and Drones in this forum

Help starting 50cc Cessna UAV project

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2011, 03:46 PM
Fawaz-

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help starting 50cc Cessna UAV project

Hello there fellas,

I have just started building my UAV platform (50cc Cessna 182 Skylink) I have over 7 years of RC experience, It is going to bea projectfor college. I have stumbled upon a lot of manufacturers and types of autopilots and its accessories... after researchingin a lot ofwebsitesI have cameto conclusion thatI'm completely lost and don’t know which type or make to choosefor the perfect fit to myplatform !!

So now I need your help guys, I’m no electrical engineer neither acomputer engineer, soI need something simple and easy to build andprefer something ready built and easysoftware to use. Not forgetting all these easy and simple hardware and software needs to be accurate andprecise; I don’t want something breakingdown on me and crash my airplane or disappoint my Uni. I would really appreciate your help guys!!
What do you guys think of the paparazzi project??

Old 04-19-2011, 04:22 PM
mboland

Default RE: Help starting 50cc Cessna UAV project

There are quite a few auto pilots on the market these days, from the open source DIY versions like Aurdupilot (which has matured over the past 2 years), to the high end Micropilot (high end for small UAV's anyway).

I have been using the Attopilot with good success over the past 2 years.
Off the shelf, comes complete, and can be set up with IP sensors (cheap) or full IMU.

Although you can operate solely from ground setup you should get some comms solution such as Xbee or XTReam radio modems, the frequency depending on your countries regs.

Check out http://www.attopilotinternational.com/