Futaba Radios Direct support forum Ask any questions you may have about Futaba radios and product here and get answers direct from Great Planes/Futaba

Servo connections

Reply
Old 10-14-2010, 10:35 AM
  #1
Tampatexan
Thread Starter
 
Tampatexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Servo connections

I'm building a P-38 and I am working to connect the servos. Since there is a rudder servo in each nacelle, they must be connected to a 'Y' cable which is then connected to the receiver. However, the nose wheel steering servo is in the center pod. Can I connect the plug from the first 'Y' cable to a second 'Y' cable, connect the NW servo to the second 'Y' cable and then connect to the receiver??





[img]file:///C:/Users/Jim/Desktop/Servos.jpg[/img][img]file:///C:/Users/Jim/Desktop/Servos.jpg[/img]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq46079.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	11.8 KB
ID:	1516438  
Tampatexan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 10:53 AM
  #2
MinnFlyer
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo connections

You'll need two Y-cords
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki19668.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	34.8 KB
ID:	1516443  
MinnFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 11:54 AM
  #3
Tampatexan
Thread Starter
 
Tampatexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo connections

Thanks, Mike!  Your drawing looks almost like mine ..  I'll use yours...
Tampatexan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 02:00 PM
  #4
Bax
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 19,432
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo connections

You may find that you'll have difficulties with that setup. That's because having several servos on a single, unamplified output from the receiver may sink too much current in the signal line. That will degrade the signal the servos get and make them operate erratically. We've seen this happen a number of times when more than two servos were on the same receiver output, or the leads were too long to two servos.

If that happens, you'll either need to get an amplified connector or use a mixer to get the nosewheel servo to work with the rudder servos.
Bax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 07:06 PM
  #5
Tampatexan
Thread Starter
 
Tampatexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 67
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo connections

Bax: Where do I get an amplified connector or a mixer ??
Tampatexan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 09:00 AM
  #6
Bax
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 19,432
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo connections

You can use this:

http://www.futaba-rc.com/radioaccys/futm4155.html

...or you can get an amplified connector through third-party manufacturers.

Bax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:44 AM.