Community
Search
Notices
Futaba Radios Direct support forum Ask any questions you may have about Futaba radios and product here and get answers direct from Futaba

heat with a 2009 R6014FS

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2012, 08:44 AM
cabinwacoman
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default heat with a 2009 R6014FS

Hello:

I am just learning my "new" 12FG. I actually purchased this off this site as the second owner. It was new in 2009 and has the FS receiver, no dots or paint or anything showing on the receiver. I have been reading about this radio/receiver and actually ran into one "unlink" during setup of my new radio. I am in north Texas and it is WAY too hot here. The model was on the ramp and Iam sure it got too hot. My question is, if Ichange to a R6014HS receiver, will thissurvive a little betterin hot climate? Iam actually adding some ram air cooling and attempting to keep ambient temps inside the modelwhile flying but that is very difficult on the ground. I do not feel comfortable with this known problem considering where Ilive.

I wrote Futaba but have not received a response yet. Iwas wondering if they have an exchange program as Iwould love to trade this one in for two HS receivers, as Iplan on a dual receiver set up.

I do realize that all electronic equipment quits operating properly at some elevatedtemp. I work on full size a/c and half the battle of the new generation a/c is cooling the avionics. BUT, Ialso realize they should be designed to handle the worst case operational condition. - Like sitting in the pitts waiting to fly. I would really hate to loose a model over this when there is an easy fix, like swapping to the 6014HS.

What do you think?
Thanks for all you guys do!

Neal
Old 07-06-2012, 07:10 AM
maxvertical

Default RE: heat with a 2009 R6014FS