Futaba Radios Direct support forum Ask any questions you may have about Futaba radios and product here and get answers direct from Great Planes/Futaba

Screen for Futaba 12z

Closed Thread

Old 10-07-2018, 08:28 PM
  #1  
bemyself
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , THAILAND
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Screen for Futaba 12z

Hi,
Hopefully the Futaba representative or any kind souls can help.
I have a faulty 12z screen which appears to be some kind of darken circle on the screen making some display hard to read. Not sure Futaba still supply this screen or does anyone who have this spare screen for sale. Please help to advise.
i'm located in the far east but will be in Wisconsin/ Chicago around 23rd to 28th of this month. Do also let me know if i can find this screen around this area.
Thanks
bemyself is offline  
Old 10-07-2018, 09:37 PM
  #2  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I suggest you contact the service center closest to you. The US service center cannot work on Non-US FCC certified system purchased outside the US. Where did you purchase the radio?
FUTABA-RC is online now  
Old 10-08-2018, 12:50 AM
  #3  
bemyself
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , THAILAND
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FUTABA-RC View Post
I suggest you contact the service center closest to you. The US service center cannot work on Non-US FCC certified system purchased outside the US. Where did you purchase the radio?
Hi,
I know it's not possible to send it for repair as it's quite old already. I just need the LCD screen and hopefully i can get someone in Thailand to fix it up for me. Just wanted to know where i can buy this screen.
Thanks
bemyself is offline  
Old 10-08-2018, 12:52 AM
  #4  
bemyself
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , THAILAND
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FUTABA-RC View Post
I suggest you contact the service center closest to you. The US service center cannot work on Non-US FCC certified system purchased outside the US. Where did you purchase the radio?
Sorry, i overlooked your question. It's purchased in Thailand
bemyself is offline  
Old 10-08-2018, 05:12 AM
  #5  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I am sorry, I do not know where you can buy the screen for a do it yourself repair. You might try Radio South, they carry Futaba parts and do repairs here in the US as a 3rd party.
FUTABA-RC is online now  
Old 10-08-2018, 06:26 AM
  #6  
bemyself
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , THAILAND
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FUTABA-RC View Post
I am sorry, I do not know where you can buy the screen for a do it yourself repair. You might try Radio South, they carry Futaba parts and do repairs here in the US as a 3rd party.
Thanks. Really appreciate that. Can you advise the contact or website for Radio South?
Regards
bemyself is offline  
Old 10-08-2018, 06:44 AM
  #7  
bemyself
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , THAILAND
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

[QUOTE=bemyself;12468995]


Thanks. Really appreciate that. Can you advise the contact or website for Radio South?
Regards
Hi,
I think i found the website and contact. Just worry that there'll be no parts available as i try doing a search. Anyway, i'd send Tony a mail requesting for the screen. Thanks once again
bemyself is offline  
Old 10-08-2018, 07:12 AM
  #8  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Google is your friend:

https://radiosouthrc.com/
FUTABA-RC is online now  
Old 10-08-2018, 10:39 PM
  #9  
bemyself
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , THAILAND
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FUTABA-RC View Post
Google is your friend:

https://radiosouthrc.com/
Thanks but Tony does not seems to respond.
bemyself is offline  
Old 10-09-2018, 05:02 AM
  #10  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

That is unusual. From what I have heard they are usually very responsive.
FUTABA-RC is online now  
Old 10-09-2018, 08:07 PM
  #11  
bemyself
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , THAILAND
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FUTABA-RC View Post
That is unusual. From what I have heard they are usually very responsive.
Tony has responded but no stock for the LCD screen. Thanks for the help anyway.
Regards

bemyself is offline  
Old 10-09-2018, 09:07 PM
  #12  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Not sure if Futaba USA would have them in stock either. But you might check with them maybe they can repair it while you are here.

https://futabausa.com/repairs/
FUTABA-RC is online now  
Old 10-10-2018, 01:41 AM
  #13  
bemyself
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , THAILAND
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by FUTABA-RC View Post
Not sure if Futaba USA would have them in stock either. But you might check with them maybe they can repair it while you are here.

https://futabausa.com/repairs/
Thanks. I'll try and see what's my best option now. Thanks anyway. Really appreciate your help extended to me

bemyself is offline  
Old 10-10-2018, 06:03 AM
  #14  
modtron
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chinnor, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 235
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Just for the record - we still have them in the UK - part number Y-9M15A01901.
This is only the LCD display - the clear screen is not available.

If you need any more info, just leet me know - I do not have a price at this time.

modtron
Oxford UK
modtron is online now  
Old 10-10-2018, 06:05 AM
  #15  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the heads up on that!!
FUTABA-RC is online now  
Old 10-10-2018, 10:39 AM
  #16  
mongo
My Feedback: (14)
 
mongo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 2,567
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

this option might not cost any more than the new lcd unit...
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...aba-12-Z-radio
mongo is online now  
Old 10-10-2018, 04:01 PM
  #17  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks. But please keep in mind that this is not an open forum area. Feel free to share info like this with the OP using a PM.
FUTABA-RC is online now  
Old 10-10-2018, 09:21 PM
  #18  
bemyself
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , THAILAND
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by modtron View Post
Just for the record - we still have them in the UK - part number Y-9M15A01901.
This is only the LCD display - the clear screen is not available.

If you need any more info, just leet me know - I do not have a price at this time.

modtron
Oxford UK
Hi modtron,
Thanks. Really appreciate your kind effort but what do you mean by clear screen is not available? Clear screen means protective screen or the screen that is covering the LCD. How can i get a price for this part. Can you advise? Thanks


bemyself is offline  
Old 10-10-2018, 09:26 PM
  #19  
bemyself
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: , THAILAND
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by mongo View Post
this option might not cost any more than the new lcd unit...
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...aba-12-Z-radio
Dear mongo,
This is really a good option if the LCD screen is more expensive than this radio. Not sure is still for sale. Maybe I'll PM you as this might not be appropriate to post it here
. Thanks
bemyself is offline  
Old 10-12-2018, 07:11 AM
  #20  
modtron
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chinnor, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 235
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You would need to contact Jim @ Ripmax Servicing in the UK at .....

service@ripmax.com

He would be able to give you all of the relevant details.

modtron
Oxford UK
modtron is online now  
Old 10-12-2018, 10:14 AM
  #21  
FUTABA-RC
 
FUTABA-RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

OK, this has run its course. Anything beyond this can be done in PMs. Thanks guys.
FUTABA-RC is online now  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service