Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Rcexl Opto Gas Engine Kill Switch v1.2

Old 02-16-2016, 01:35 PM
  #101  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,724
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

It's really not up to any fail safe settings. An opti switch is going to kill the engine by default regardless, in a low voltage or loss of signal situation.
ahicks is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 01:54 PM
  #102  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Loss of signal or a corrupt signal at the receiver can trigger failsafe in the receiver that will output a predetermined pulse width on the channel the opti switch is connected to. This can either cut the ignition off or leave it running depending on how the radio is programmed. Normal settings for most failsafe receivers that I have is a "hold" condition that would leave the ignition on. Not sure about all receiver brands so there could be exceptions. The ones I own go to a hold condition on low battery which of course is followed quickly by a dead condition as the battery fully discharges. Of course, a dead battery shuts everything down! Certainly failsafe can also be programmed to kill the ignition in the above conditions. Best way is to test the whole system by turning the transmitter off and observing if the ignition goes dead or not while the airborne system is still turned on.
Truckracer is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 02:57 PM
  #103  
douglas racer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by ahicks View Post
It's really not up to any fail safe settings. An opti switch is going to kill the engine by default regardless, in a low voltage or loss of signal situation.
That's not what they were saying a couple pages back. They were saying that the fail safe is part of the transmitter/receiver set up not the kill switch. My understanding is the fail safe set up for my transmitter/receiver positions all channels where ever I set them. So if I set the fail safe up as throttle idle but ignition switch on it will go to that if signal is lost. I'd rather not have a brown out kill the engine but if that's the normal set up I guess I would do that.
douglas racer is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 05:11 PM
  #104  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,724
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Splitting hairs here. Not sure how important this is. If things get bad enough for your fail safe settings to be enabled when on 2.4, not sure how important it is for your engine to remain idling in any case.

Regarding fail safe settings taking precedence over the opti switch programming, in the case of low voltage or signal loss, how is the receiver going to maintain the voltage or signal required by the opti switch? The receiver is not able to boost voltage or generate signal that it is not receiving.

Even if the receiver is able to set a pulse width/generate a signal that will keep the opti switch running (not very likely in my estimation) thinking it would be impossible to trick the opti switch in low voltage scenarios.
ahicks is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 05:25 PM
  #105  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

All well and good if we're just referring to low voltage conditions and I agree with you Al. But in the case of a short term, bad signal triggered failsafe event, it might be desirable for the engine to keep running ... or maybe not. Going back to my first response, its up to the individual to make that call and set up failsafe the way they feel most comfortable. Like I indicated, I'm most comfortable with the engine going dead in any condition that triggers failsafe.
Truckracer is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 06:37 PM
  #106  
douglas racer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by ahicks View Post
Splitting hairs here. Not sure how important this is. If things get bad enough for your fail safe settings to be enabled when on 2.4, not sure how important it is for your engine to remain idling in any case.

Regarding fail safe settings taking precedence over the opti switch programming, in the case of low voltage or signal loss, how is the receiver going to maintain the voltage or signal required by the opti switch? The receiver is not able to boost voltage or generate signal that it is not receiving.

Even if the receiver is able to set a pulse width/generate a signal that will keep the opti switch running (not very likely in my estimation) thinking it would be impossible to trick the opti switch in low voltage scenarios.

Since I'm splitting hairs I'll go ask my questions somewhere else.
douglas racer is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 07:16 PM
  #107  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,724
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Sorry for not telling you what you seem to want to hear.
ahicks is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 07:32 PM
  #108  
douglas racer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

You didn't tell me anything, but I bet you impressed yourself.
douglas racer is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 07:44 PM
  #109  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hmmm, another satisfied customer? I thought he was presented several sides of the story for him to decide how he wanted to configure the equipment. Oh well ............
Truckracer is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 07:50 PM
  #110  
douglas racer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

No, you presented several sides. He on the other hand just told me I was splitting hairs when I asked how to set up the fail safe.
douglas racer is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 08:11 PM
  #111  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 4,957
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by douglas racer View Post
No, you presented several sides. He on the other hand just told me I was splitting hairs when I asked how to set up the fail safe.
Oh, OK. Please don't take offense. Everybody was just trying to help out. Sometimes things just get taken wrong in the forum setting.
Truckracer is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 08:47 PM
  #112  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,724
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Maybe a more specific question might help. Like what kind of radio, exactly, do you have? The scenario you have in mind, or are trying to prevent, exactly?

If you weren't so offended, maybe you would have read the second and third paragraphs. Not sure how much more specific anyone could get, here or anywhere else. If you don't agree with, or get what I'm saying, say so. I'm just guessing at where you are coming from, what you're trying to figure out, and stating an opinion.

Honestly didn't mean to offend, but I do fail to understand why an engine going to an idle setting is of any importance/of any benefit when the plane is in such dire straights. That's my issue though. Not yours. You're free to do as you like. -Al
ahicks is offline  
Old 02-16-2016, 11:45 PM
  #113  
the pope
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: goolwasa, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,680
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I like him . Cheers the pope
the pope is offline  
Old 02-17-2016, 05:44 AM
  #114  
douglas racer
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Thanks for the information guys, I have my set up figured out.
douglas racer is offline  
Old 06-09-2018, 07:04 PM
  #115  
clockguypete
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 122
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I am using an rcexel opti kill on my gas engine setup. My engine quit mid flight and I dead stick landed ok. Walked over to the plane and the kill switch led was off. Toggled the switch for it on my transmitter a couple times but it remained off. Switched the receiver off and on then the opti kill LED came back on ok. What's going on here? Any ideas?
clockguypete is offline  
Old 06-10-2018, 03:47 AM
  #116  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,724
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Low ign. battery would be my first guess.
ahicks is offline  
Old 06-10-2018, 04:43 AM
  #117  
karolh
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,610
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

What chemistry battery are you using for ignition power ?
karolh is offline  
Old 06-10-2018, 05:21 AM
  #118  
clockguypete
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 122
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I run a two cell lipo which was charged before my three flights. After 4flights it only uses around 150ma. I never had that happen before, so seeing my opti kill LED off when I did not hit the kill switch in flight surprised me. I'm thinking flaky ignition switch maybe, intermittent connection somewhere? Or something in the spectrum 12ch dual batt safe receiver shut the kill switch off? I never loss control of the fight controls, just the engine ignition shut down.
clockguypete is offline  
Old 06-12-2018, 04:37 AM
  #119  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,724
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Have you been able to duplicate the issue?
You might try setting the servo travel, for the channel operating the switch, to max in both directions.
ahicks is offline  
Old 06-12-2018, 06:53 AM
  #120  
clockguypete
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 122
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I remember setting the travel on the optikill switch just as you suggested when I programmed the plane. I flew another flight without this problem. Have had around 25 flights now with this issue. I'll keep an eye on it, and see if it reoccurs.
clockguypete is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.