Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

remote kill switches

Old 04-11-2011, 06:03 PM
armyguy466
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default remote kill switches

i'm new to gas airplanes i'm use to nitros and i'd like to know about remote kill switches are they needed how do they work and whats the best but affordable switches
Old 04-11-2011, 06:25 PM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: remote kill switches

Some people do not use them on the small gassers. They shut the engine down just like on a glow engine.
Old 04-11-2011, 06:37 PM
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

It's a real good safety device. Hopefully, you'll never have to use it. Here's the best one. It gives you the isolation you will need.
http://www.smart-fly.com/Products/Ignition/ignition.htm

Read this.
http://www.rcaer.com/userfiles/file/...20Aircraft.pdf

And this.
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_86...tm.htm#8673009

Dan.
Old 04-11-2011, 06:50 PM
MetallicaJunkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

this one is reaqlly easy to set up... i have it set to a slider switch on my transmitter.... it has a really bright LED to let you know ignition is "armed" I also have the added benefit of a switch, just incase. Even if i leave the ignition switch on, which has happened by accident the ignition will not be armed provided i didnt leave my Tx on with ignition engaged... and in the event of a fail safe moment i have it set to kill the ignition to play it safer

*edit* the green led is on a switch.. and the bright blue led is the one that comes with the 42% products ignition kill
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	xv64088.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	2.54 MB
ID:	1592682  
Old 04-11-2011, 06:53 PM
vertical grimmace
My Feedback: (1)

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

I have had good luck with this one. http://valleyviewrc.com/42-Percent%2...l%20Switch.htm