Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Faulty Ignition – NOT!

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2011, 07:01 AM
FlipSideFlyer
My Feedback: (58)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Faulty Ignition – NOT!

Okay, so here was a first for me and I’ve been flying gas engines for over 20 years.

After 5 years of trouble-free flying a Zenoah G-62 powered Edge 540T, the plane started encountering problems with intermittent engine failures. During anywhere from one to three flights, the electronic ignition equipped engine would die mid-flight offering lots of practice with dead-stick landings. It was if someone reached over and turned off the ignition switch.

During the course of the next six weeks along with a handful of additional dead-stick landings, I worked through the following replacements: changed out the ignition battery, changed out the ignition switch, changed the spark plug, changed out the complete ignition system including the timing sensor and replaced wiring leads with new ones.

On the bench, everything worked fine. After a short time in the air, however, not so fine! Also, not so fine was the last dead-stick landing. You know how it goes when you’re low, slow and upwind.

Back on the bench, everything worked fine. THEN (a tad bit late) I noticed something unusual. My post-mortem Xacto blade would hardly stick to the small timing magnet located in the after-market flywheel. Hummm…when I rotated the flywheel by hand, with the ignition on, it fired every time. However, when I warmed the flywheel with my heat gun, the magnetic force went to zero and the ignition quit! I was able to repeat this test several times before the magnet gave up completely.

Bottom line: next time I’m experiencing ignition problems, I’m going to START by checking the magnet!
Old 08-12-2011, 07:57 AM
All Day Dan
My Feedback: (5)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Faulty Ignition – NOT!

Flip, Thanks for the post. That's a new one to look out for. Dan.