Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Trouble DLE30 and DLE55

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2011, 01:35 PM
SuperCub Man

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trouble DLE30 and DLE55

I've been flying both of these motors for a couple of years now. The DLE-30 is in a 1/4 scale Super Cub and the DLE-55 is in my 26% Skybolt, both scratch built from plans. I have not been flying very often for the past while but recently having had cataract surgery the world is now extremely sharp and in focus once again and I am having a ball! - except that all of a sudden, both my aircraft are glitching like crazy. I had made some changes to them while I was temporarily out of business. I run a JR 2.4G 9303 XMTTR and JR 7 CH RCVR. I switched from Nimh batteries to A123. The Supercub has a new IGN. module (cut the ignition wire on the FG cowl so replaced whole thing) and has one battery running both the receiver and the ignition. The Skybolt has separate A123's running RCVR and IGN. Both planes flew successfully with this setup. I have 2 N40007 Diodes reducing the V on the IGN leads. I then added an RCexl Kill switch to each aircraft. I flew the Cub successfully many times with this set up and had absolutely no trouble. I wanted to get a few hours under the belt with the Cub before tackling the much faster Skybolt. I then flew the Skybolt and on the first flight it acted a little strange so I landed and saw that at certain speeds I had glitches. I took out the Cub the next day and the throttle glitched so bad I couldn't maintain any steady throttle control. Each time the engine coughed the surfaces glitched and the throttle jumped high to low to high! Tried a new IGN module on the Skybolt and got the same thing! Someone suggested the Kill switches were defective and many said they had trouble with them - so I removed them. I am still getting glitches. So I replaced the Motor servo on the cub, but no change. It is mounted on the firewall and the