Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

fg-14 in showtime 50

Reply
Old 10-01-2011, 05:24 PM
  #1
washfire
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Washougal, WA
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default fg-14 in showtime 50

Putting a new Saito FG-14b in my Showtime 50.... First time with this gas motor... Looking for ideas on mounting the ignition and etc... Not sure where to mount everything???
washfire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:20 PM
  #2
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,019
Default RE: fg-14 in showtime 50

Well you're not getting many replies yet on this one! Take a good look at the gas engine forum, expecially the stuff on the 20cc DLE, like what plane are you putting your 20cc on. Another guy has a complete build thread on the Aeroworks ProX 260 with DlE 20cc. Not exactly what you asked for but many, many ideas there about the related hardware. Keep us posted and good luck!

Ernie
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 09:26 PM
  #3
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,520
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: fg-14 in showtime 50

The most successfull areas of use for the Saito FG series engines has been in sport and scale planes.

They have not worked out well for 3D in the long run.

The problems encountered are the extra dead weight of the ignitions system and the extra battery.

Throttle response/tuning issues

Overall power.
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 09:30 AM
  #4
washfire
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Washougal, WA
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: fg-14 in showtime 50

Well, finished the install a few weeks ago and it flys great!!!! Almost thru the 1st gallon and the only problem I'm having is it will die after an abrupt move... If I fly with no loops, rolls etc it will fly all day. Not out of fuel tho... great balance so dead sticks have been great. The fuel line is still full of fuel.. Not sure why it is dying.. checke all electrical conection, clunk, fuel etc. Guess I'll have to change things around and keep flying untill I find out why... Any ideas...
washfire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 09:32 AM
  #5
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,520
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: fg-14 in showtime 50

Like i said?
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 09:37 AM
  #6
washfire
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Washougal, WA
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: fg-14 in showtime 50

I supose I could only fly upright and around in circles, it does that great... I'm only concerned about the dying... And why... You cna'y tell me the going straight up and then flatten out is a move that would kill na engine..
washfire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 02:00 PM
  #7
w8ye
Moderator
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,520
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: fg-14 in showtime 50

The pump in the FG-14 carb is very weak. You need the tank right up as close as you can get it to the carb and centered on the needle valve.
w8ye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 10:06 PM
  #8
Ernie Misner
 
Ernie Misner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 5,019
Default RE: fg-14 in showtime 50

Try richening it up slightly and see if that improves things.

Keep us posted,

Ernie
Ernie Misner is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:55 PM.