Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Fuel Barb Soldering Help Please!

Old 12-09-2011, 02:27 PM
oldtyme

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel Barb Soldering Help Please!

Hi all,

I'm really kinda new to the gas thing and setting up my first gas airplane. I know that I need to solder barbs on the 1/8" brass tubing but my question is how do you solder the barbs on both ends of the brass tubes going through the stopper without melting the stopper?

Thanks for any and all tips,
Andy
Old 12-09-2011, 02:45 PM
Tony Hallo

Received 49 Likes on 47 Posts
Default RE: Fuel Barb Soldering Help Please!

I solder one end, assemble with cap, stopper and back platepushed against barb that soldered on, then solder the remaining barb. Works for me.
Old 12-09-2011, 02:45 PM
DMcQuinn
My Feedback: (13)

I don't use barbs for that very reason. I secure the Tygon gasoline line to the brass tubes with a very small tie-wrap. Put one on every connection point inside and outside the tank.

If you like the barbs, it is possible to solder one on to both ends after it's put through the stopper. The stopper can handle some heat and if you do it quickly it will work. Move the stopper as far away as you can and put a heat sink (like a pair of needle nose pliers with a rubber band) on the brass tube in between the solder point and the stopper.
Old 12-09-2011, 02:48 PM
Brian Smith
My Feedback: (117)

I have soldered plenty of them on..
Solder on one end then slide all the way into the stopper and solder the other end. You don't have to get it so hot it will damage the stopper. Brian

ORIGINAL: oldtyme

Hi all,

I'm really kinda new to the gas thing and setting up my first gas airplane. I know that I need to solder barbs on the 1/8'' brass tubing but my question is how do you solder the barbs on both ends of the brass tubes going through the stopper without melting the stopper?

Thanks for any and all tips,
Andy
Old 12-09-2011, 04:47 PM
aussiesteve