Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Idle problem

Old 01-16-2012, 01:33 PM
Falcon32

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Idle problem

Hi Guys
I’ve been having a lot of problems tuning my RCGF45 it’s just never run the way it should. I’ve now replaced the Chinese carb for a genuine Walbro and it’s running much better. I’m getting 7500/7600 on a Menz 20X8 a significant improvement from before. However, I still have one annoying little problem with the idle. After a W.O.T. run when I return the stick to idle it settles at about 2600 for about 10 seconds before it will return to the normal idle of 1800. I am quite new to gas so any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
Falcon
Old 01-16-2012, 03:21 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: Idle problem

The words below are a cut and paste from here http://tech.flygsw.org/walbro_tuneup.htm

"Set the lowend & highend needles to about 1 3/4 to 2 turns each. Choke the carb or prime it, until the carb is wet. Fire up the engine and let it warm up. Let's set the topend first since it's the easier of the two. Go to full throttle. Adjust the topend needle for peak RPM. Leave it wide open for about a minute to see if it changes any. Should the engine go lean, open the lowend needle slightly, if this dosen't work... you will have to adjust the needle valve inside the carb.( I will explain this later) If the topend runs OK, then slowly pull the throttle down until the engine begins to "four cycle" hold the throttle there. Adjust the lowend needle until the "four cycling" barely stops. Now lower the throttle more until it "four cycles" again, and adjust the lowend again. Keep doing this until you reach full idle. Now, from full idle begin to throttle up until the engine starts to bog or hesitate. Open up the lowend needle just enough to eliminate the bog or hesitation.